One of Those Days

26 Jan

So remember when I mentioned that we were on the adventure of our lives, in transit to California’s sunny coast? Well its true, and our current location is somewhere in the middle of where we came from and where we are going and completely not who we are. Alabama… Yes, small town living with a little more twang than were used to, but to be fair it actually turned out to be a good place to hang for a bit. Lets call it a learning experience and we really are learning mucho about ourselves.

Now to get to the actual point of this post… Yesterday I woke up (too early) and set out to find an office that I never found and followed the excursion with a day of everything going wrong with the added benefit of feeling tired and listless. That is until about 8:30 pm when I decided to get out of bed and grab life by the horns, I obviously believe this saying is relevant at anytime of the day or night. After a stop at Starbucks for my usual soy hot chocolate, I made my way to Books-A-Million where I immediately saw The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros, a book I recalled from my very younger days. I opened to the middle of the book and read the first line that popped out at me which went a little like this…

“You can never have to much sky, you can fall asleep and wake up drunk
on sky and sky can keep you safe when you are sad.”

and then it all hit me. I was suddenly reminded of exactly what I was doing here in the dirty south and where my life was going. How are these words relevant you ask? Well for one there is a lot of sky down here and although it is far from the city life I dream about, I believe with all my heart it is where  we are supposed to be right now. Sometimes its necessary to simplify your life before you bring home a big shopping bag of new things to clutter it up again and this simple life with a big open sky is a constant reminder of our big open future as well as a comforting reminder of a constant that is always there no matter what friends we miss or what jobs we leave behind.

One Response to “One of Those Days”

  1. laura January 29, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    courcourtt and hoho…I am so excited to see your Blog!!! And I see a Big future for two amazing and talented girls Big Hugs

Leave a Reply

